There are currently no items in your basket.

Marina and the Diamonds has revealed details of her eagerly anticipated debut album ‘The Family Jewels’.

Marina and the Diamonds

The latest ‘and the’ band to jump on the wagon, Marina and the Diamonds are fronted by Marina Diamandis – you, her audience, are the diamonds. It’s easy to see why this pretty Welsh-born, of Greek descent, London-based  24-year-old singer/songwriter has drawn lazy comparisons to the likes of Kate Nash and Florence and the Machine. More Bush than Nash, her sound skips between simple keyboard-based ballads and more up-tempo and catchy, kooky new wave-inflected tracks enhanced by bass, guitar and drums.

Much like her hilarious and unabashed blog page, Marina uses her music to explore her musings on the seduction of commercialism, modern social values, family and female sexuality.  Her songs are filled with character; moving, powerful and dripping with imagery. Furthermore, Marina has the charisma to dassle on stage, as well as in the studio, bringing her songs to life.

Her debut single Obsessions/Mowgli’s Road was released on Neon Gold records in the US, followed by the Crown Jewels EP in June 2009 featuring the songs I Am Not A Robot, Seventeen, Simplify and I Am Not A Robot (Remix).

Her  debut album ‘The Family Jewels’ is set for release on 22nd February 2010, following the release of her new single ‘Hollywood’ on 1st February.

The Family Jewels Tracklisting:

1. Are You Satisfied?
2. Shampain
3. I Am Not A Robot
4. Girls
5. Mowgli’s Road
6. Obsessions
7. Hollywood
8. The Outsider
9. Hermit the Frog
10. Rootless
11. Numb
12. Guilty

Buy The Family Jewels by Marina and the Diamonds and view more new music for 2010

No Post Tags

Team Zavvi

Team Zavvi


A collection of thoughts, opinions and news from the staff at Zavvi.