Zavvi - Le foyer de la culture populaire

Tu veux un verre, mon pote ? Tu t'es battu, mon pote ? Tu veux goûter à la poussière et à la sueur, mon pote ? Il n'y a rien d'autre ici." À mi-chemin entre le réalisme social et l'horreur existentielle, ce portrait troublant et subversif des bas-fonds culturels de l'Australie n'a pas réussi à trouver un large public lors de sa sortie initiale, mais est devenu depuis une pierre angulaire du cinéma australien.

Un instituteur de classe moyenne, coincé dans un poste d'enseignant imposé par le gouvernement dans une région aride, s'arrête dans la ville minière de Bundanyabba sur le chemin du retour pour les vacances de Noël. Il découvre un jeu d'argent local qui pourrait lui donner l'indépendance financière nécessaire pour retourner à Sydney pour de bon, et l'occasion est irrésistible. Mais les mauvaises décisions ne font que commencer et le fait de se fier aux normes locales d'hospitalité dans "le Yabba" pourrait l'entraîner sur un chemin plus sombre que prévu.

L'un des nombreux triomphes de la carrière du réalisateur Ted Kotcheff, Wake in Fright maintient sans effort la qualité d'un cauchemar ensoleillé, avec une avancée implacable et des performances exceptionnelles de Donald Pleasance, Gary Bond, Sylvia Kay et Chips Rafferty dans son dernier rôle. Cette dissection brutale et saisissante des limites de la masculinité et de l'amoralité, qui s'inscrit dans la lignée de Straw Dogs, A Clockwork Orange et Deliverance, reste une entrée étonnante dans le cinéma du début des années 1970. La série Masters of Cinema est fière de présenter ce film dans une nouvelle édition double format pour sa première diffusion au Royaume-Uni.

Caractéristiques spéciales :

  • Nouvelle restauration haute définition 1080p du film sur le Blu-ray et encodage progressif sur le DVD
  • Sous-titres anglais facultatifs pour les sourds et les malentendants
  • Commentaire audio de longue durée avec le réalisateur Ted Kotcheff et le monteur Anthony Buckley
  • Interview vidéo de 2009 avec Ted Kotcheff
  • ABC's 7:30 Report - reportage vidéo sur la redécouverte et la restauration du film
  • Qui a besoin d'art ? - pièce vintage sur Wake in Fright
  • Clip nécrologique de Chips Rafferty
  • Spot TV Outback
  • Bande-annonce théâtrale britannique
  • Livret de 48 pages comprenant des essais d'Adrian Martin, Peter Galvin, Meg Labrum, Graham Shirley, Ted Kotcheff et Anthony Buckley, ainsi que des images d'archives
Studios:
Masters of Cinema
Durée:
109 mins approx.
Réalisateur(s):
Ted Kotcheff
Certificat (Royaume-Uni):
18
Langue des Sous-Titres:

English for the Hard of Hearing

Format Image:
1.85:1
Date de Sortie Cinéma:
1971
Langue Principale:
English
Nombre de Disques:
2
Région:
B
Marque:
Eureka!

Wake In Fright - Dual Format Edition (Masters of Cinema)

Blu-ray
EUR 15.99

Prix de détail conseillé : 21,49 €

15,99 €

Économisez : 5,50 €

Qté :

( 0 item is in your basket items are in your basket )

Chat en ligne

Temps de connexion moyenne 25 secondes

Temps de connexion moyenne 25 secondes

Livraison et retour

Livraison standard (5-10 jours) = 2,99€
Livraison suivie (3-5 jours) = 5,99€
Les délais de livraison s'appliquent aux produits en stock. Les précommandes seront expédiées dès que nous recevrons le stock. Comptez jusqu'à 21 jours pour la réception des produits Funko. Livraison suivie n'est pas disponible sur tous les produits.

Que faire si je ne suis pas complètement satisfait de ma commande?

Veuillez lire notre politique de retours .

Zavvi - Le foyer de la culture populaire

Tu veux un verre, mon pote ? Tu t'es battu, mon pote ? Tu veux goûter à la poussière et à la sueur, mon pote ? Il n'y a rien d'autre ici." À mi-chemin entre le réalisme social et l'horreur existentielle, ce portrait troublant et subversif des bas-fonds culturels de l'Australie n'a pas réussi à trouver un large public lors de sa sortie initiale, mais est devenu depuis une pierre angulaire du cinéma australien.

Un instituteur de classe moyenne, coincé dans un poste d'enseignant imposé par le gouvernement dans une région aride, s'arrête dans la ville minière de Bundanyabba sur le chemin du retour pour les vacances de Noël. Il découvre un jeu d'argent local qui pourrait lui donner l'indépendance financière nécessaire pour retourner à Sydney pour de bon, et l'occasion est irrésistible. Mais les mauvaises décisions ne font que commencer et le fait de se fier aux normes locales d'hospitalité dans "le Yabba" pourrait l'entraîner sur un chemin plus sombre que prévu.

L'un des nombreux triomphes de la carrière du réalisateur Ted Kotcheff, Wake in Fright maintient sans effort la qualité d'un cauchemar ensoleillé, avec une avancée implacable et des performances exceptionnelles de Donald Pleasance, Gary Bond, Sylvia Kay et Chips Rafferty dans son dernier rôle. Cette dissection brutale et saisissante des limites de la masculinité et de l'amoralité, qui s'inscrit dans la lignée de Straw Dogs, A Clockwork Orange et Deliverance, reste une entrée étonnante dans le cinéma du début des années 1970. La série Masters of Cinema est fière de présenter ce film dans une nouvelle édition double format pour sa première diffusion au Royaume-Uni.

Caractéristiques spéciales :

  • Nouvelle restauration haute définition 1080p du film sur le Blu-ray et encodage progressif sur le DVD
  • Sous-titres anglais facultatifs pour les sourds et les malentendants
  • Commentaire audio de longue durée avec le réalisateur Ted Kotcheff et le monteur Anthony Buckley
  • Interview vidéo de 2009 avec Ted Kotcheff
  • ABC's 7:30 Report - reportage vidéo sur la redécouverte et la restauration du film
  • Qui a besoin d'art ? - pièce vintage sur Wake in Fright
  • Clip nécrologique de Chips Rafferty
  • Spot TV Outback
  • Bande-annonce théâtrale britannique
  • Livret de 48 pages comprenant des essais d'Adrian Martin, Peter Galvin, Meg Labrum, Graham Shirley, Ted Kotcheff et Anthony Buckley, ainsi que des images d'archives
Studios:
Masters of Cinema
Durée:
109 mins approx.
Réalisateur(s):
Ted Kotcheff
Certificat (Royaume-Uni):
18
Langue des Sous-Titres:

English for the Hard of Hearing

Format Image:
1.85:1
Date de Sortie Cinéma:
1971
Langue Principale:
English
Nombre de Disques:
2
Région:
B
Marque:
Eureka!
Avis de clients

Aucun commentaire pour l’instant.

Laissez un commentaire pour aider les autres clients à la recherche d'informations sur ce produit.

Added to your basket

Sorry, there seems to have been an error. Please try again.

Qty:

Subtotal: ( items in your basket)

Wake In Fright - Dual Format Edition (Masters of Cinema)
  • Description

    Have a drink, mate? Have a fight, mate? Have a taste of dust and sweat, mate? There's nothing else out here." Balanced on a knife-edge between social realism and existential horror, this disturbing, subversive portrayal of Australia's cultural underbelly failed to find a wide audience on its original release, but has since become established as a seminal cornerstone of the Australian cinema.

    A middle-class schoolteacher, stuck in a government-enforced teaching post in an arid backwater, stops off in the mining town of Bundanyabba on his way home for the Christmas holidays. Discovering a local gambling craze that may grant him the financial independence to move back to Sydney for good, the opportunity proves irresistible. But the bad decisions are just beginning and a reliance on local standards of hospitality in "the Yabba" may take him on a path darker than ever expected.

    One of the many triumphs in director Ted Kotcheff's career, Wake in Fright effortlessly sustains the quality of a sun-baked nightmare, with a relentless forward drive and outstanding performances by Donald Pleasance, Gary Bond, Sylvia Kay, and Chips Rafferty in his final role. A brutal, gripping dissection of the limits of masculinity and amorality to stand alongside Straw Dogs, A Clockwork Orange, and Deliverance, it remains a stunning entry in the envelope-pushing cinema of the early 1970s. The Masters of Cinema Series is proud to present this film in a new Dual Format edition for its UK home viewing premiere.

    Special Features:

    • New 1080p high-definition restoration of the film on the Blu-ray and a progressive encode on the DVD
    • Optional English subtitles for the deaf and hearing-impaired
    • Feature length audio commentary with director Ted Kotcheff and editor Anthony Buckley
    • Video interview from 2009 with Ted Kotcheff
    • ABC's 7:30 Report - video piece on the the rediscovery and restoration of the film
    • Who Needs Art? - vintage piece on Wake in Fright
    • Chips Rafferty obituary clip
    • Outback TV spot
    • UK theatrical trailer
    • 48-page booklet featuring essays by Adrian Martin, Peter Galvin, Meg Labrum, Graham Shirley, Ted Kotcheff and Anthony Buckley, and archival imagery
  • Product Details
    Certificate:
    18
    Director:
    Ted Kotcheff
    Region:
    B
    Aspect Ratio:
    1.85:1
    Number of Discs:
    2
    Main Language:
    English
    Subtitle Languages:

    English for the Hard of Hearing

    Run Time:
    109 mins approx.
    studio:
    Masters of Cinema
    Theatrical Release Year:
    1971

Wake In Fright - Dual Format Edition (Masters of Cinema)

Blu-ray
1 Reviews
GBP 9.99

£9.99

Item limited to max quantity of 5000

( 0 item is in your basket items are in your basket )

In stock

-

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

Live Chat

Average connection time 25 secs

Delivery & Returns

Express Delivery - if ordered before 9pm, delivered by courier next working day.
If ordered before 10.30pm on weekdays and weekends, delivered by courier next working day. Available on orders placed before 9pm (2pm weekends and Bank Holidays) for delivery next business day. Applies to most delivery addresses within mainland UK.

If I'm not completely happy with my item?

Please see our returns policy.
  • Description

    Have a drink, mate? Have a fight, mate? Have a taste of dust and sweat, mate? There's nothing else out here." Balanced on a knife-edge between social realism and existential horror, this disturbing, subversive portrayal of Australia's cultural underbelly failed to find a wide audience on its original release, but has since become established as a seminal cornerstone of the Australian cinema.

    A middle-class schoolteacher, stuck in a government-enforced teaching post in an arid backwater, stops off in the mining town of Bundanyabba on his way home for the Christmas holidays. Discovering a local gambling craze that may grant him the financial independence to move back to Sydney for good, the opportunity proves irresistible. But the bad decisions are just beginning and a reliance on local standards of hospitality in "the Yabba" may take him on a path darker than ever expected.

    One of the many triumphs in director Ted Kotcheff's career, Wake in Fright effortlessly sustains the quality of a sun-baked nightmare, with a relentless forward drive and outstanding performances by Donald Pleasance, Gary Bond, Sylvia Kay, and Chips Rafferty in his final role. A brutal, gripping dissection of the limits of masculinity and amorality to stand alongside Straw Dogs, A Clockwork Orange, and Deliverance, it remains a stunning entry in the envelope-pushing cinema of the early 1970s. The Masters of Cinema Series is proud to present this film in a new Dual Format edition for its UK home viewing premiere.

    Special Features:

    • New 1080p high-definition restoration of the film on the Blu-ray and a progressive encode on the DVD
    • Optional English subtitles for the deaf and hearing-impaired
    • Feature length audio commentary with director Ted Kotcheff and editor Anthony Buckley
    • Video interview from 2009 with Ted Kotcheff
    • ABC's 7:30 Report - video piece on the the rediscovery and restoration of the film
    • Who Needs Art? - vintage piece on Wake in Fright
    • Chips Rafferty obituary clip
    • Outback TV spot
    • UK theatrical trailer
    • 48-page booklet featuring essays by Adrian Martin, Peter Galvin, Meg Labrum, Graham Shirley, Ted Kotcheff and Anthony Buckley, and archival imagery
  • Product Details
    Certificate:
    18
    Director:
    Ted Kotcheff
    Region:
    B
    Aspect Ratio:
    1.85:1
    Number of Discs:
    2
    Main Language:
    English
    Subtitle Languages:

    English for the Hard of Hearing

    Run Time:
    109 mins approx.
    studio:
    Masters of Cinema
    Theatrical Release Year:
    1971

Customer Reviews

5.0

1 Reviews

5 1
4 0
3 0
2 0
1 0

Top Customer Reviews

Where reviews refer to foods or cosmetic products, results may vary from person to person. Customer reviews are independent and do not represent the views of The Hut Group.

lost australian treasure

Brutal,shocking and beautiful, but most of all a truly great movie.If you haven't seen it yet it a must,but only for people with good stomach.

Back to top